Yoga

So I recetnly attended my first Yoga class. I wasn’t too happy about going, but I went anyway.  (My gym changed the schedule and my normal Monday night class was replaced by Yoga.)  I decided I should at least give it a try.  I must admit I did enjoy the class but was worried because I felt like I hadn’t done anything. I’m used to aerobic classes that raise my heart rate and make me sweat. So, I left the gym that first night feeling good about the class but wondering had I really done anything to benefit my body. So, I did a little research.  Yoga has been practiced for approximately 5000 years.  It originated in India.  Benefites include: improves flexability, builds muscle, perfects posture, prevents cartilage and joint breakdown (by taking joints throught full range of movement), protects spine, better bone heatlh (many yoga poses are weight bearing), increases blood flow, boost immunity, ups heart rate, drops blood presure, regulates adrenal glands, increases happiness, lowers blood sugar, helps focus, relaxes you, improves balance, improves sleep, boosts immune system, helps lung capacity, eases pain, and helps prevent some sicknesses.  Believe it or not there are more benefits than those I listed!  It is the streatching and movements involved in the practice of yoga that help the body in a multitude of ways.  Yoga helps various parts of the body to streatch and move in ways that normal everyday living does not allow.  I have learned that there are different types of yoga and also different yogis teach differently.  I would suggest that yoga be a part of your fitness routine. It’s now part of mine and I’m enjoying it.  I also suggest that you talk with the instructor before beginning in order to find the right class and instructor for your needs.  Make yoga part of your journey!

    Leave a Reply

    